Upgrade Your Drupal Skills

We trained 1,000+ Drupal Developers over the last decade.

See Advanced Courses NAH, I know Enough

Announcing the Bug-Smash community initiative!

Happy to announce we're attempting to kick off a new community initiative primarily focused on fixing and closing bugs.

We're hoping to

  • reduce the total amount of open core bugs
  • reduce the average age of open bugs
  • increase the number of closed bugs
  • mentor those looking to get more involved in contributing to core
  • give community members from countries in the Eastern Hemisphere the chance to participate in a core initiative in their local time zone.

We need you!

Resolving core bugs requires a wide range of skills - we're looking for volunteers to join us who can help with one or more of the following tasks:

  • Triaging and classifying bugs
  • Writing good bug reports, with steps to reproduce
  • Writing patches to resolve the bug
  • Writing automated test-cases to confirm the bug, and that it is resolved
  • Reviewing patches, through the lens of each of the core gates e.g. technical, accessibility, performance, backwards-compatibility, documentation, internationalization and usability.
  • Communicating with sub-system experts in order to gain sign off on non trivial changes
  • Writing documentation as required
  • Manual testing of the patch
  • Communicating any changes via blog posts, change records, release note snippets etc.
  • Coordination and management

If you are are looking to get involved - come join us on Slack in the #bugsmash channel.

We will meet asynchronously in the #bugsmash slack channel fortnightly on a Tuesday at 0400 UTC which maps to the following times:

  • 2pm AEST
  • 12 noon AWST, CST
  • 4pm NZST
  • 9.30am IST
  • 6.00am CEST
  • 5.00am BST
  • 8.00pm PST
  • 11.00pm EST
Author: 
Original Post: 

About Drupal Sun

Drupal Sun is an Evolving Web project. It allows you to:

  • Do full-text search on all the articles in Drupal Planet (thanks to Apache Solr)
  • Facet based on tags, author, or feed
  • Flip through articles quickly (with j/k or arrow keys) to find what you're interested in
  • View the entire article text inline, or in the context of the site where it was created

See the blog post at Evolving Web

Evolving Web